Haul: Drugstore makeup

Drugstore Haul

Hi everyone! During a nail painting party in my dorm one night, my friend had the Essie Mint Candy Apple polish. I painted my nails using that and fell in love with the color. My problem was that I was still a nail polish newbie and a broke college student. I didn’t want to spend the $8 on a nail polish when I could easily borrow it from a friend down the hall.

A couple of weeks ago, I went to Bartell Drugs with one of my friend during our Spring Break. There was a nail polish that caught my eye:

Wet N’ Wild: Treehugger

Nail Polish collage

This is from their new line, Silver Lake. At my drugstore, it retails for $1.99. This reminded me of the Essie Mint Candy Apple color (but at a fraction of the price)! The Wet N’ Wild polish was more of a muted and dusty mint green. Me being me, I stood in the aisle and Googled swatches. At first, I was disappointed because the color was not as bright as Essie’s. I ended up leaving without Treehugger in my possession.

Weeks later, I kept on thinking about the polish. I decided that it was a sign I should get it because if I kept on thinking about it so much, it meant I actually wanted it. It wouldn’t be an impulse buy. After my philosophy class today, I made the trek to Bartell Drugs to buy it.

While I was there, I picked up a couple of other beauty related items I thought I would share!

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Stickers: Real Lace Fabric

20150408_190513

I saw these during my first drugstore run. They were on clearance and I debated on getting them. I had never used nail stickers and had heard good and bad things about them. What caught my attention was how Sally Hansen used real lace for the sticker. I decided not to buy them because, like the nail polish, I didn’t want to buy it on impulse. Weeks later, I couldn’t stop thinking of how they it would be over the TreeHugger color and other spring nail polishes. I finally bought them today and I think the price was even cheaper than when it was on clearance weeks ago! Yay!Nail Sticker collage

I’m not going to lie, I was disappointing when I took them out of the box. I compared the nail stickers to the size of my nail beds and realized: A) I had tiny nail beds or B) the nail stickers are meant to be bigger in size so you can cut it to your nails. I’m pretty sure I just have small nail beds. Whatever the reason is, I’m still excited to test them out!

L’Oreal: Infallible Silkissime Eyeliner- Silver

20150408_190745

I saw this on clearance and decided to purchase it after reading good reviews on it (again, while standing in the middle of the aisle). I heard that the application was silky and creamy, which matches what L’Oreal claims. One Youtuber claims that it won’t smudge after you let it set for a few minutes. I have oily eyelids and every eye product often smudges or smears on me after a few hours of wear. I wanted to put the Youtuber’s claim to the test with my oily eyelids.

I originally bought the silver color because that’s what I could find and liked from the clearance shelf. Looking at it now, I’m debating whether or not to keep it. Silver seems like a bold color and I’m not sure if I can pull it off (especially for daily wear, which was my intention). I’ll keep you updated if I keep it or not.

NYX: Butter Lip Gloss- Creme Brulee and Apple Struddle

Lip Gloss collage

I bought these as a belated birthday present for one of my best friends. She is starting to become a huge makeup junkie and wanted to try these products out. While I was at the drugstore, I texted her with an offer to buy makeup as her birthday present. She gave me a list of products and I made the hunt for them. Two products I picked up were these lip glosses. Judging from the sample model photos provided at the bottom of the stand that these lip glosses were placed on, the color seems to be pigmented and left a very glossy shine to them.

Thank you so much for reading until the end of my drugstore makeup haul! Please feel free to leave any comments suggesting future topics I could write about or improve on. I am planning on doing a review post on the Wet N’ Wild Treehugger polish. Keep your eyes open for that in the near future!

-Kim 🙂

6 thoughts on “Haul: Drugstore makeup

  1. Look at my lovely little Kim blogging and *gasp* buying makeup??? GIRL you better post photos of your gorgeous face with that silver eyeliner okay? Like Abby said, an eyeshadow primer works really well OR concealer and setting it with a matte powder before you go in with a shadow or liner. The colors are more vibrant and the longevity is improved. I can’t wait to see more of your blogging! (PS, getting my silver liner out right now okayyyyyy hahaha) ♥ Love you ♥

    Like

    • Haha. Yet, Kim is blogging and wearing make up now! I’m debating about keeping the silver eyeliner. I don’t know what looks I can use it for. I’m but my makeup with the intention of being able to wear it on a daily basis. Heyyy, wanna do a blog post about how to wear colorful eyeliner? ;))

      Like

  2. OMG KIM when did you start a blog!!? <3__<3 Good call going back for the Treehugger, it's super cute! And I have oily eyelids too :c I find that if you use eyeshadow primer before putting any eyelid products like eyeliner and eyeshadow it lessens smudging a lot!! I'M SO EXCITED TO SEE WHAT YOU POST YAYYYY! :DDDDDD

    Like

    • Hi Abby! 🙂 Ahaha, I figured starting a blog would be a fun thing for me to tackle this quarter. Why not? 😉 I’ve been looking for a primer for a while now. I wanted to try out the ELF primer but every store I’ve gone to does not sell it or has sold out. Any recommendations?

      Like

Leave a Reply

