Why should you set goals?

 

I’m going to be honest: I still have not written my 2016 New Year Resolutions. Nor have I written my winter quarter academic goals. I haven’t even written my goals for my sophomore year of college.

By the time this post is published, I would have survived the first two weeks of 2016 without writing any goals. Could I continue my year like that? Sure, it’s possible. But I do believe that the goals I set for myself helps me become a better person.

I love looking back at the goals I have set for myself. Last year, I found the motivation to write down a long list for my resolution. It was interesting to see what I wanted to improve in myself and with the ones around me.

So if you’re like me and haven’t put into words what you want to accomplish,  here is a list of why you should set goals. It’s never too late to start writing goals.


 

Goal setting

Determines your strengths and weakness

In September, I posted my Academic Goals for fall quarter. My goals consisted of weakness I noticed during my freshman year that I wanted to fix this time around. It took a while for me to reflect on what worked and didn’t work for me in order to set these goals.

Goals help you determine what you can improve on. It’s a great way for you to reflect on the previous time period and see what are things you could change. Whether it’s to get good grade or be a better person, you first have to determine what your strengths and weakness are.

Motivates you

You are one step closer to achieving your dreams when you write them down, compared to when you don’t. If you see that past you had a plan for future you, you will feel more motivated to make your older self proud. It’s a great way to push yourself to accomplish your goals.

Keeps you accountable

Personally for me, I tend to keep my word more if I write it down (whether on paper or on the computer). Not only will it jog your memory when you see it, but it will also remind you that you wanted to improve yourself. It’s a great way to keep yourself accountable because you don’t want to disaapoint yourself.

Feeling of satisfaction

We all could use a pat on the back from ourselves. We never stop and think “Hey. I should be proud of myself and what I have accomplished.” By setting goals, it allows you to take the time and feel proud that you accomplished something. The feel of satisfaction is a great feeling, so why not set yourself up to succeed?


 

Thank you for reading! Leave a comment down below of any goals you set for yourself this year!

-Kim 🙂

22 thoughts on “Why should you set goals?

  1. नाप तौल के जीना भी क्या जीना त422376;&##&04;मी๠ी पीना मीठा कहना खुश रहना है।

    Like

  2. You know, folks… I actually passed this story/link on because I thought it would be of interest… I mean, you’re all screaming about the levels of radiation already out there, and now you’re putting down this story about the level of cell phone radiation being jacked up 20%?… I am accused of “spin”; passing on &#22u0;comm2nist⁙ propaganda; and then you focus on the story’s “bad coverage” of thermal effects, etc… I made no claims as to the merits of the article, passing it on for the sake of shared knowledge. If you don’t like the article, then fine; but don’t shoot the messenger.

    Like

  3. Usando Mozilla Firefox 3.0.3 no Windows XPadorei a meteria e tals mas sohtem uma coisa queeu sempre odiei em brasileiros, acharem ruim de chamarmos os americanos de… bem, americanostem uma jusifica logica pra eles “se acharem os unicos amgnucanos”nireiem ta falando do continente qdo fala em america, ams sim do nome do país, Estados unidos da… America…por isso chamamos de america e por isso a naturalidade de quem nasce lá é americano, simples

    Like

  4. Issa and Grassley are tryingThey have yet to convince me that they ar#1;e82n7&t merely trying to impress the home folks. As far as I’m concerned, it’s all political theater. I’ll change my mind when I see results, but I’m not holding my breath.

    Like

  5. in gran parte i tuoi commenti ma non sono d&c9#;a3cordo quando dici che la gente è stupida. Secondo me è mancanza di confidenza con la rete ed i suoi tranelli, non sempre ovviamente, ma molto spesso. Come diceva markogts, anch'io conosco diverse persone, brave e stimate sia nella vita che nel lavoro, che credono non solo in queste di fb, ma in numerose altre bufale.

    Like

  6. I have learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bokmakroing for revisiting. I surprise how so much effort you place to create one of these great informative web site.

    Like

  7. I’m going to be honest and admit that I totally avoided New Year’s Resolutions this year! That said, I love to keep big picture goals in my mind and keep making new ones as I go along. The feeling when you complete them is just amazing!

    Like

    • I think it’s a great idea to keep big picture goals. One aspect I dislike about New Year’s Resolution is you feel very pressured to complete all of them within a short time frame. Big picture goals should help lessen that time pressure. Thanks for sharing that idea! 🙂

      Like

  8. I’ve set my goals too! I used to set quite abstract goals, i.e. “be happy” “spend more time doing this or that” but I’ve found that I need to be more concrete and push myself a bit when it comes to achieving goals. C: Now my main “goal” is drawing a little doodle every single day. I even made an Instagram to motivate myself 😀

    Like

  9. I do love setting goals! I even have a notebook just for setting goals. Before I start something, I always have to write down what I plan to achieve on this notebook. Is that weird? xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

