June Favorites- 2016

June was a month filled with new and exciting changes for me. I wrapped up my 2nd year of college with finals and packing up my last time in a dorm. It was bittersweet to see my dorm room empty. I didn’t have a great dorming experience my first year at college. However, this year I formed a strong bond with my roommate, Aprille, and it led to a fun and comforting environment to return from class and work to.

In addition to moving out of my dorm, I moved into my first apartment with 3 of my friends! Yay! I’m excited to share the progress of making it feel like home and my experience with living off-campus.

13579850_1247670485243664_388840921_o.jpg

Another big change for me was making my part-time job became full-time for the summer. If you didn’t know, I work for my university in one of their departments. During the school year, I’m only allowed to work part-time per the school’s rule. Since I’m not taking summer classes, it means I can become a full-time employee for the next 3 months. It’s been quite an adjustment waking up at 7 am every weekday for work. Especially for a girl who doesn’t take classes if it’s before 9 am. Haha.

Besides all the life updates above, here are my favorites that I’m developed from the month of June!


Clothing- Shorts

My sister and I were at Burlington when I spotted these adorable shorts. I love the pattern and fabric. It’s super comfy and can be dressed up or down! Plus, the lace detailing helps add length so it’s more appropriate to wear for multiple occasions. My sis loved them so much that she also grabbed a pair so now we’re #twinning.

What do Seattleites do when it's a sunny weekend? Wear cute shorts! 🌞 #burlingtonstyle

A post shared by Kim Tran (@simplybeingkim24) on

Beauty- Maybelline Master Contour Kit

To be honest, I have yet to use the contour shade because I’m scared of messing it up.  But the kit has my go-to blush shade! Like I mentioned, I’ve been waking up at 7 am for work Monday through Friday. Most of the time, I look like a sleep deprived zombie. The blush is perfect for adding some color on my face and giving me a more fresh and alive look. The highlight is also one of my favorites to wear because it reflects nicely in the light!

13570104_1247631528580893_1709021696_o

Home- Christmas Lights

The first thing I asked my roommates regarding decor was if I was allowed to put up christmas lights in the living room! Haha. Cute decorative lights have been a staple in my dorm for the past 2 years. I scored these icicle style lights at the beginning of this school year for $10! I love our living room looks at night when the lights are turned on. It gives it a more warm and inviting feel.

13509399_1244555902221789_1459449080_o

Music- Let’s Be Birds by Jacob Whitesides

Fun fact: I actually discovered Jacob Whitesides on Youtube before his music became mainstream. It’s always amazing to watch Youtube artist gain their spot in the mainstream world.

Movie- Finding Dory

It’s been 13 YEARS since it came out. Can you believe it?? I had high hopes for the sequel and it went beyond my expectations. It was amazing enough to make me watch it not once, but TWICE within a week of each other. I highly recommend it!

13523777_1244481985562514_532595702_o

Quote- 

“Be a pineapple: stand tall, wear a crown, and be sweet on the inside.”

13517982_1244481928895853_976055905_o

I hope you enjoy reading my June favorites. June has been a crazy month for me, but I’m excited to see what the rest of the summer has in store for me! What are your favorites from June? And what are you looking forward this summer? And have you seen Finding Dory yet (if not, you should!)?

-Kim 🙂

One thought on “June Favorites- 2016

Leave a Reply

