To My 18 Year Old Self,

Two summers ago, I crammed all of my belongings onto my Dad’s truck and we drove down to Seattle. I was excited, but scared for Seattle to be my new home for the next 4 years.

A couple of weeks ago, I stumbled upon Ashley‘s post called “A Letter to my Freshman Self.”It inspired me to reflect on my college experience and what happened since two summers ago. Even though it’s been an emotional roller coaster since coming to college, I am proud with how far I have come today. I believe everything happens for a reason.

And while I didn’t have the best experience during my first 2 years at college, I don’t regret any of the lessons I learned throughout the way.

20 lessons

  1. No matter how hard you plan your life, it will never go as you want. Learn to let go of planning and enjoy the unexpected.
  2. You will slay in that purple lipstick. And you will look rock the leather jacket and red lips combo. Don’t be afraid to change up your look.
  3. There’s no need to find another set of friends to replace the ones who aren’t with you. Appreciate the ones who stuck around, even if they are miles away.
  4. It’s okay to cry. Sometimes it’s needed.
  5. You will bite off more than you can chew. And it may be stressful at that time, but you will find a solution.
  6. It’s okay to say “no” to a Friday night out. Honestly, you love cuddling with your the latest episode of How to Get Away with Murder and Ben & Jerry’s ice cream.
  7. You will meet people who are better and brighter than you. Don’t let stop you from chasing your dreams and crushing your fears.
  8. Visit mom and dad more. Let them know you’re alive and well-fed.
  9. Your dorm room is not the best study space. You will take a lot of naps instead of writing that History paper.
  10. Coffee at 10 pm sounds like a good idea for a late night essay writing session. Your roomie will be a champ and make the trek to the cafe with you.
  11. Introduce yourself first. Don’t be afraid to make the first move.
  12. Do your laundry on a weekday. Stop pushing it off until the weekends when all the machine are used.
  13. Late night Cave runs (my university’s convenience store) will help build strong friendships.
  14. The best discovery you will ever make in college is finding out you can add a sunny-side up egg and bacon to a grilled cheese sandwich. Don’t forget to order fries with it. Yum.  
  15. You will do things you never thought you would do. Both good and bad. However, it doesn’t mean you are a bad person.
  16. You will look forward to the season when they have the syrups you like. And you can order as many Lavender Vanilla Chai Latte as you like. 
  17. Not everyone will be your best friend… or even your friend. And that’s okay. You will learn to appreciate the one who stick by you.
  18. You will learn it’s okay to be alone sometimes. Actually, you will learn to appreciate it more as you get older.
  19. You will start to lose respect and trust for the people you used to look too. But you should never let them continue hurting you.
  20. You will learn to start loving yourself and be proud of how far you have come.

College is not just about books and studying (although don’t forget to do that!). It’s also about gaining experiences. Life doesn’t go as plan because you are meant to go through things that will teach your valuable lesson. Collect those lessons and use them to have a better experience and become a better person.

I would love to know what is one lesson you would tell your younger self. Leave a comment below!

-Kim 🙂

7 thoughts on “To My 18 Year Old Self,

  1. با همین استدلال پوسیده هست که تو این Û³Û´ سال فساد سال به سال بیشتر شده… یک خانم مورد احترامه چه با حجاب باشه چه بی حجاب… جامعه نباید به خاطر تعدادی مرد که قدرت کنترل ØÇ™™Â´Ã™ÂˆÃ˜ÂªÃ˜Â´Ã™ÂˆÃ†و ندارند محدود شه… شما هم کاسه داغتر از آش برای سایر دخترا و زنا نباش…

    Like

  2. halo master shalimow..wah fresh info nih..kalo blogger ada yang saling “makan” nggak ya bos.. oh ya…ada info investasi yg ok nggak [yg nggak scam..ane mau deh join via reff ente…asal nggak scam lho..but kasih tutorial nya juga do..h..[.eghe.henhe.. mumpung paypalku masih “isi” lumayan nih..]keburu kosong lagi buat yg nggak-nggak..thanks ya..info deh di emailku ya bos..makasih..salam..

    Like

  3. I loved this article!
    Thank you so much.
    I just stumbled on your blog from Twitter and you got plenty of good stuff here , I’d be sticking around.
    I’m heading off to College in a month and these tips would definitely be of help to me ☺

    Like

  4. “No matter how hard you plan your life, it will never go as you want. Learn to let go of planning and enjoy the unexpected.”

    This was a lesson I had to learn as well, and I’m glad I did. Congrats on making it through so far! ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

