2016 Blog Recap: looking at 2016 goals, making 2017 goals, & my favorite posts

2016 Recap.jpgAt the beginning of the year, I sat in my sophomore year college dorm and wrote how I wanted my blog to grow in 2016. Since 2016 is coming to an end, I wanted to take the time and reflect on some of the goals I have set. I also thought it would be nice to share my goals for 2017 and do a recap of my favorite posts from this year.


Be more consistent

I will admit that I am horrible at being consistent with my blog. Sometimes I upload posts late. Sometimes I don’t post on a weekly schedule. Sometimes I don’t post at all for months. Since the summer, I have been trying to stick to a schedule of posting on weekly, on Tuesdays at 9 AM PST. This has worked some weeks and failed others. I’m not giving up yet! I still believe I can get myself on a more consistent posting schedule.

Define my blogging style

In my goal post, I talked about how important it was to me to create my blogging “niche.” This means determining what my blogging theme would be. Honestly, I still feel like I haven’t found it yet. And I’m not mad. A blogging niche takes a while to discover and mold to what I want it to be. For me, it’s still a work in progress.

Additionally, I wanted to develop my blog organizational style. This means that my posts are all written the same way and laid out the same way. Over the past couple of months, I have been tweaking the headings, taglines, and other parts of a post. I still haven’t found anything that I like yet. And that’s okay.

Utilize social media more effectively

At the beginning, the the only platforms my blog had was the site itself, a poorly advertised Facebook page, and a barely growing Instagram account. Fast forward 12 months, I have seen a lot of growth in my site, Instagram, and a Twitter account that I started about 3 months ago. Since then, I have omitted my Facebook page because I didn’t find it reaching my audience effectively. I am happy to say that I was able to utilize my Instagram and Twitter more effectively this year.

Increase my following and my followers’ interactions

It makes me so happy when I look at my blog stats from 2015 and compare it to 2016. My page views in 2016 is 4x more than what I had in 2015! So have the numbers of readers on my site. Yay! I have also seen more people leaving comments and liking my posts when they are published. Thank you to all the loyal readers who have been doing that. Let’s continue to make this trend grow up in 2017!

Improve my photo quality

I originally intended my end goal to be purchasing a nice camera to shoot photos with. I have been in the marketing for a camera, but will be ending 2016 without purchasing a better camera. However, the one thing I learned is that you don’t need a fancy DSLR to achieve high quality blog photos. There are so many posts about how you can use your phone camera and a few editing apps to get the same appearance. In a way, I did accomplish this goal because my blog and social media account photos have improved in 2016. They look more bright, cleaner, and crisper compared to my older photos.

2017 Blogging Goals

Be more consistent with publishing content

Expand my network and connection in the blogging community

Continue to utilize social media platforms effectively

Continue to grow my following on the blog

Be more active in the interactions with my readers

Determine an organizational layout for the blog posts

Best Posts from 2016

Fall Ball at the EMP

4 adult lessons you learn when living off-campus

Hiking has taught me…

Goodbye FOMO. Hello GOMO!

To My 18 Year Old Self,

10 Reasons Why I’m an Imperfect Blogger (Inspired by Courtney’s Little Things)

Why should you set goals?


I just wanted to say thank you to every single one of my readers for making Simply Being Kim what it is today. I appreciate every comment, like, tweet, and reply I receive on my blog and social media accounts. I am excited to see how SPK will grow in 2017. And I hope you will join me on my journey in 2017.

Cheers to the new year! See you in 2017.

-Kim 🙂

3 thoughts on “2016 Blog Recap: looking at 2016 goals, making 2017 goals, & my favorite posts

  1. HeexE,cellynt post. This is true that real people can increase your sales and improve your business. Most of the business must have target visitors so that they can convert. I would suggest that targeting right keyword can bring a lot of results.Thank you

    Like

  2. Hi!
    I’ve followed you for a while now and occasionally read your post. Today however, I was on my laptop when the notification email that you posted came up. The title (effective library studying) was both catchy and relevant to me this week so I came over to your blog and was super impressed.
    I’ve been blogging since late 2013 but I’ve mostly not followed a schedule besides sometimes that I got organised and followed a pattern for a few weeks or months. It is super hard but I think that it may also be super rewarding because it is something that I’ve tried to work on for so long now. Today it is in my agenda to work on blogging and my Youtube Channel but I have some school work to finish first.
    I usually post the links to my new blog posts on my personal Facebook feed and occasionally in my bio on Instagram. I’ve noticed that I do get some views via Instagram but I get more from Facebook. What is it like for you.
    Anyways, that’s all for now.
    I’m super impressed with your blog. (I haven’t found a niche as yet either)
    Rushell 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Rushell! Thank you so much for the kind words. Honestly, I’m still in the same boat as you when it comes to blogging. The best tip I can give to you for blogging is it’s all about trial and error. It took me quite a while to find a blogging schedule that I enjoy. I like posting once a week because it’s consistent enough to keep my readers, but also gives me enough time to produce content. Keep an open mind about being able to change things that you are not happy with. If you’re not happy with your posting schedule, then change it to whatever makes you happy! It’s your blog after all!

      As for social media posting, I love using Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook blogging groups. Twitter and Instagram is a great way to engage in real time with your audience. I like to tweet out a link to my blog post on Twitter when it’s first posted. And I usually have a little blurb about my new post in the IG caption of my photos. As for FB, I suggest joining FB blogging groups. It’s a great way to spread the word about your blog and meet other bloggers.

      I would love to discuss more about blogging with you. Feel free to email me at kimtranblogging@gmail.com with any more questions you have about blogging!

      Wishing you and your blog the best of luck in 2017!

      -Kim 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

