Projects to do this Summer

Summer projects

Happy Wednesday! I apologize for this post being later than usual. I spent my entire morning at the DMV. And we all know how the DMV can be.

I have officially finished my 3rd year of college! Yay! With the extra free time this summer, I’m tackling a couple of projects. I know a lot of people like tackling new hobbies during the summer. So I’ve complied 6 projects that anybody can do this summer!

1. Start a Blog

What kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t promote this? Haha. If you have been hesitant to start a blog, summer is the best time for a trial run! Chances are, your responsibilities are less hectic compared to the school year. In the summer, you will have enough time to brainstorm content, decide on a niche, and find your voice in the blogging community. Does this mean if you have to figure it all out in 3 months? No! Absolutely not. But you can get a head start in the summer and start your blogging journey. Give it a go!

2. Bullet Journaling

Bullet journals (bujo for short) have been flooding my Instagram feed for months now. In late March, I jumped the on bandwagon and bought myself a journal. So far, I love it! Bujo has acted as a creative outlet for me. People argue that it’s too time consuming. This is true, but I love being artsy. Bujo is not only a planner, but it’s also a reminder for me to carve time out to be creative when creating my spreads.

Summer is the best time to start a bujo since you will have more time on your hand. This gives you a chance to try out different spreads and system at your own pace. By the time school rolls around again, you’ll have a better idea of what methods work for you!

I’m in the process of creating an in-depth post about bullet journaling. Stay tune!

3. New Recipes

Ever since I moved into an apartment, I’ve been on the hunt for new recipes to try. I have an entire Pinterest board dedicated to recipes. I’m planing on using my summer break to make as many of the recipes that I’ve been pinning. When I first moved in, I thought I could test new recipes for dinner every night. I soon learned that after a long day of classes and work, I didn’t want figure out if a new recipe was going to taste good or not. Since school is out of session, you’ll have more time (and energy) to cook. Plus, you’ll have a list of recipes that you’l be a master at making by the time classes are back.

Here are some of my favorite recipes that I’ve found on Pinterest:

Soft baked cookies (my roommates and I love this recipe!)

Banana bread

Cream cheese and bacon chicken rolls

Baked ziti

4. Redecorating

Summer is the perfect time to redecorate! I like using Pinterest to gain inspiration for how I want my spaces to look like. Summer allows you more to work on more complicated projects. This summer, I’m planning on decorating my bedroom and desk area. I’m excited to share how it will look at the end of summer with you all!

5. Bucket List

Bucket lists is a great way to plan your summer out. I love creating them because it makes me reflect on what I want to accomplish in 3 months. Seattle has so many fun events during the summer. So I like to create a bucket list to ensure I go to those events and explore Seattle more now that the sun is out. Last summer, I posted my 2016 Summer Bucket List if you’re interested in seeing what my plans were!

What’s on your bucket list?

6. Fitness

Last summer I moved into an apartment that has its own gym. Since the gym was included into my rent, I told myself I had to get my moneys worth and start using it. In June, I began to run on the treadmill. Now, it’s one of my favorite stress reliever to do! Sadly, I haven’t been the the gym in a while because of my schedule. Now that summer is near, I’ll have more time to hit up the gym and get fit! Abigail fromΒ Living the Gray LifeΒ has a great post on how toΒ stay motivatedΒ with working out and more!

I’m always looking for new workout routines so leave a comment of your favorite ones!

Is there any projects you think I should start this summer? What are you doing this summer?

-Kim πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Projects to do this Summer

  1. Girl, so many of these speak to my soul! I just bought a dotted notebook and have started bullet journaling, and I can’t wait to read your in depth post! Also, summer is definitely the best time to start big projects like that, or a blog, because you can spend all of your creative energies on that, rather than schoolwork! I also love to try new recipes in the summer when I have more time to cook! Great post πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yay! Glad you enjoyed this post! You’re so right, summer is the best time to invest all your creative energ into projects. It’s my favorite time to try new things.
      Also, I saw on your IG that you started bujo! I can’t wait to see more of it as you develop your style. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This post was so creative! I’ve wanted to jump on the bullet journal bandwagon but I feel like my handwriting isn’t pretty enough nor is my creativity hahaha would love to see some posts on your bullet journal and how you make it look nice!

    -Isabelle
    TrulyIndulgent.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Isabelle! I’m glad you liked the post. You should totally give bullet journaling a try! I didn’t think my handwriting was good enough nor would I have the creative capacity. Yet, there’s a lot of inspiration from Youtube and Instagram for bujo. Plus, it’s an excuse for me to buy more stationary stuff. Haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

