The reality of being a college blogger

Summer projects (1).jpgHi! If you’ve been following Simply Being Kim for the last few months, you may have noticed the inconsistency. During spring, I began to question what I wanted for the future of my blog. I took about 2 months off from blogging because… simply put, I needed a break. I really enjoy being a college blogger. It was a great experience for me to meet other college students across the country! And I got to collaborate with different brands and companies that I wouldn’t have known about.

Even though I enjoy blogging, there is a reality behind it that many do not see. Our online personas do not show the hard work and dedication that is put into establishing a blog. I took some time to reflect and realized 3 things about the reality of being a college blogger

It’s time consuming

Like many of my readers, I am a college student myself. I juggle academics, a social life, a job, and an internship while trying to maintain Simply Being Kim. Honestly, many people do not give bloggers enough credit. Regardless if they are full-time or part-time bloggers. Yes, it may seem like an easy job where all we do is write and take pictures for social media. But, that’s not the reality behind it.

Each (well done) blog post takes more than writing and clicking “publish.” There’s a lot that goes on behind the scenes. People do not witness the unspoken duties of a bloggers: managing following, increasing engagement, maintaining Instagram and Twitter, understanding analytics, the back and forth sponsorship/ collaboration business emails, and so much more. Unfortunately, blogging is simply not typing 500 words and hitting send. It takes a lot more time to genuinely grow a blog… a following… a brand… your own brand.Β 

Where’s my voice?

A couple of years ago, the college blogging community was scarce. There was was growing need for college students who wants to share their experience. Since then the community has grown tremendously. From what I have experience so far, everyone has been supportive and friendly!

Though, there is a downside to being a constantly growing community: the ability to have your voice heard. It can be difficult to blog about a certain niche when thousands of other people are discussing the same thing. Over the last year, I have published some pieces that are popular topics in the college community. Yet, whether it reaches my audience is questionable. I often ask myself, “Why should your piece be read instead of xxx’s piece about this topic?” There are so many other college bloggers who have talked about that same topic. Β It’s easy to feel like you are being drowned out by other bloggers who have established their credibility and following.

What happens after college?

*sigh* This questions scares me. Frankly, I don’t know what I’m doing professionally after college. That’s another post though. It’s also a scary SBK question because I don’t know what I’m doing with my blog after I graduate. When I started, I established myself as a blogger who focuses on college lifestyle. My plan was to share my experience about college. Now that I am graduating in less than a year, can I still label myself as a college blogger?

I know that I’m not the only college blogger who has had this question run through their mind. Actually, I have seen an increase in the number of bloggers opening up about the uncertainties of their blog’s future. It’s scary to categorize under something that is short-term base. Will I transition into a different kind of blogger? What will my focus be? Will I stop blogging after graduation?

I apologize (again) for the inconsistency with my blogging. Like I mentioned before, I’m not a perfect blogger. Especially not a college blogger. It’s scary to devote so much time and effort to establish a voice with a short-term niche. But, I wouldn’t trade the (sometimes difficult) reality of being a college blogger for anything. See you next week with another post!

-Kim πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The reality of being a college blogger

  1. Great post, Kim! I completely agree with all of these! Blogging is a lot of hard work, and unfortunately, I’m always coming across people who think it’s as simple as have a post idea, write it, publish, get thousands of reads — it really isn’t!!! Blogging during the semester is when I’m most creative because I’m constantly going through new experiences that I can write about, but it’s also the hardest because of class work, extracurriculars, and the bi-polar Long Island weather ruining my plans for blog photoshoots (lol). Keep it up, girly — you’re doing awesome! =)

    xo,
    Jasmin | http://www.macaronsandmascaraonline.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Jasmin,

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! My most creative (and successful) posts are ones that I’m inspired about my experiences too. It can be so difficult living in a place with bi-polar weather. Blog photoshoots always get ruined because of them.

      -Kim πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

