Essentials for an Office Job or Internship

Reality of College Blogger.jpg

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been trying to adjust to a full time job schedule. It’s can be jarring going from a full time student to working in an office from 8-5 p Luckily, I think my body has adapted to it now.

Now you’re probably asking “What is your job?” The first is one is an on-campus job I’ve held for 1.5 years now. It involves a lot of data entry and filing and misc. office tasks. The other one is a social media internship. With both commitments, I’m usually out of my apartment for 7 hours or so each day. This means that I have to bring whatever I would need in my bag to survive the entire day.

Without further ado, here are my essentials for an office job or internship!

Water bottle

I used to have a bad habit of not drinking water if it wasn’t conveniently around me. No matter how dehydrate I was. To combat that, I started using water bottles. And now I carry a water bottle EVERYWHERE. Most likely your office jobs requires you to stare at a compute screen for long period of time. You can easily become mentally and physically fatigue and lose focus if skip on hydrating yourself. By drinking water, it helps your brain replenish and focus better on getting work done. Research shows that you will concentrate and be in a better mood just by drinking water.

Remember to choose a reusable water bottle over the bulk plastic bottles. My university actually has a ban on distributing plastic bottles on campus. So I’ve owned my fair share of reusable bottles. Luckily, they come in fun shapes and patterns to fit your personality!

Snacks

Hannah from Broke and Fabulous mentioned how her office essentials are snacks. And I couldn’t agree more! Even with a lunch break, your stomach is going to be growling b the end of an 8 hours shift. It never hurts to keep some snacks in your bag or drawers to curb those 3 pm stomach growls (I’m guilty of them too).

Try to choose snacks that are the least messiest and noisy. It won’t look professional with your desk is covered in melted chocolate and your crunchy chips can be heard everywhere. Hannah’s favorite snacks to bring are “luna bars, clementines, almonds, pretzels, and pita chips.” My go to snacks are granola bars, fruit snacks, Skinny Almonds, and bananas. She even advises you to stick to “anything with a lot of protein or carbs to fill you up” and help you last throughout the day.

What’s your go-to snack?

Layers

I work in two departments that are fairly close to each other. Yet, the temperature in each office is polar opposite of each other! There have been multiple times when I’ve came in wearing a dress because it’s the hottest day outside. But as soon as I sit down at my desk, the air conditioning kicks in and I suddenly feel like a popsicle.  I recommend wearing layers to work. It will help you adjust easily to the fluctuation in temperature. My go to layering pieces are a chambray shirt, lightweight military jacket, and a plaid shirt. These pieces are light enough to be carried in a bag when you can’t wear it in the blazing sun. However, they add enough coverage to keep you warm.

Chapstick

Don’t let your lips go a day without some TLC! I’m guilty of forgetting to bring my chapstick to work some days. By the end of my shift, my lips are flaky and feels disgusting. I don’t know about you, but I have a bad habit of licking my lips to moisturize them. Don’t do this though! Licking your lips may solve your dry lips for a couple of minutes. Your salvia will evaporate and leave your lips feeling drier than before.  I’ve changed this by keeping a chapstick at all time in my work bag. My favorite chapstick is from Aquaphor. They have one in a easy to use chapstick size that allows me to swipe some on my lips and continue working.

Do you have an essentials for your job or internship? Leave a comment below!

-Kim 🙂

Leave a Reply

