What I wish I knew as a new blogger

Copy of Office.jpgA couple of months ago WordPress sent me a congratulations notification. I clicked on it, confused as to what it was. It turns out I made Simply Being Kim 2 years ago. TWO YEARS. I remember sitting in my freshman year college dorm and debating on the name of this blog. It’s crazy to think how much has changed since then! I was such a newbie back then.

My blog has gone through some highs and lows. I dove head first into blogging without any knowledge about proper knowledge. I was just some college girl talking about my college experience on the Internet.  I didn’t know what SEO or branding or how to work with brands at the time. Regardless of the setback, it’s been a worth while learning experience! I’ve had a chance to grow as a blogger through trial and errors. Continue reading if you want to find out what I wish I knew when I started my blogging journey!

Scheduling posts and social media

In the beginning, my post were never consistent in when I posted them. There may be a blog post up at 1 am and an Instagram pics at 5 pm. I wasn’t aware that WordPress allows you to schedule your post. So you don’t have to post it right after you finish revising it at midnight!

Also, I didn’t know social media sites allow you to schedule posts too! Honestly, for a good year or so I would tweet at the most random times. It was either in between classes or after I got home after a long day at the library. I was so boggled (yet, impressed) at how some bloggers were able to tweet throughout the entire day. I soon found out about the different apps that allow you to schedule tweets and Facebook posts. It made this blogger’s life so much easier.

Quality pics are important

I’m sure all bloggers started off with taking poor quality pictures in their bedroom/ dorm room. I am guilty of trying to sneak in blog pics when my roommate was out of the dorm. Often, it was at times when lighting was poor and it just worsen my phone quality.

Fast forward to two years later, I’ve invested in an DSLR so my pics are great quality. Don’t believe me? Check out my latest Instagram pics! I’ve learned that quality pictures are what draws your audience in. What’s the point of talking a product if the pictures only show a blurry and grainy blob?

Now, this doesn’t mean you have to invest in a fancy shmancy camera. I didn’t for the longest time. What it does mean is that your blog pics that to look like good quality. This means taking pictures in properly lighted areas and using a few editing tricks to clean them up. Up until now, I’ve been taking most of my pics with my phone and it’s been fine! It’s all up to how your stage and edit the photos.

Go engage!

The #1 thing I wish someone had told me is that there is an entire blogging community out there. And everyone is more than happy to talk and help you! When I picked up my blog last summer, I reached out to some of the different blogging groups. This has help me grow my blog better than it did the first year SBK started! Blogging groups helps you meet people in the same niche or focus as you.

Don’t know where to start? I suggest looking on Instagram and Twitter using hashtags that relate to your blog. My favorite one is #collegeblogger. I’ve met some of my favorite bloggers through that hashtag!

Write from the heart

For a while my blog looked like every college blog. I followed the sea of people who wrote about making friends in college, decorating your dorm room, and tips for acing your class. Don’t get me wrong. Those posts are important! But at one point I felt like there was nothing *new* between mine and another bloggers’ post. We pretty much have the exact same content. I became discouraged because I wanted to create content that my readers would find helpful. Yet, my content became something that you can just find on another bloggers’ blog.

Writing from your heart is more important that following blogging trends. Your audience chose to read your blog because they enjoy what you have to say. So write whatever is on your mind as long as it’s genuine.

I hope you enjoy learning about the things I wish I knew when I started blogging. Everything has a learning curve and learning how to be a blogger is no exception. If you’re a blogger, what’s something you wish you knew when you started? Leave a comment below! I would love to hear about it.

-Kim 🙂

Copy of Office.jpg

10 thoughts on “What I wish I knew as a new blogger

  1. I am so glad now that I discovered the scheduling as well! I used to always feel pressured to get my posts up at the same time on the same day lol

    Like

  2. I’m also struggling what to write. But instead of brainstorming ideas, I write about some solutions about how I cope up with my problem on blogging. It’s a good start for me to keep on writing. 🙂

    Like

  3. Can relate as a new blogger 🙂 But I do schedule my post sometimes, but when it comes to Twitter, I usually tweet randomly xD

    Like

  4. Hi Kim,
    Thank you for sharing this! As a new blogger, I can definitely relate to the lack of scheduled social media posts and random blog posts. I’m so glad that you were able to find a routine that worked for you, and I’m hoping to find mine soon! And congrats on your 2 years of blogging!

    – Amanda

    Like

Leave a Reply

